Home About IFSS Who Is Eligible?

Who Is Eligible?

Families living in various communities across the Northern Territory and in parts of South Australia are eligible to receive the Intensive Family Support Service (IFSS).

The free service is for Indigenous and non-Indigenous families with children from 0 to 12 years of age.

Northern Territory

In the Northern Territory, IFSS is available to families with children aged from 0 to 12 years for whom the local child protection agency has concerns about child neglect. To become eligible for IFSS, families must be referred to Child Protection Income Management (CPIM).

Families who live in areas where there are limited child protection services and not many CPIM referrals are also eligible.

Family access to IFSS is prioritised so that families with the greatest need are offered the service first. Those families who have been referred by a child protection agency to CPIM and have child neglect concerns have first priority; families on any measure of income management and who are referred by the child protection agency due to concerns about child neglect have next priority. Finally, community-referred families can access the program if there are child neglect concerns and there is a service vacancy.

South Australia

In South Australia, the IFSS service is offered to families in the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunyatjatjara (APY) Lands and to families based in Amata, Pukatja (formerly Ernabella) and Indulkana. In these areas, IFSS is being implemented as part of an enhanced support service.

In the APY Lands, IFSS is also available for families who have been identified by the South Australia Government Child Protection Authority as experiencing substantiated neglect.

Read Department of Social Services information about income management


See locations where IFFS is delivered